Search Forum

Help, my favorite perfume smells different .

Help, my favorite perfume smells different . 5 months ago

Hello,
I have a question about Allure Homme Sport - Eau de toilette by Chanel

I have been using this perfume for 17 years, and have always been super excited about this scent. 

Last year I bought a 100ml bottle online. (From a well known online perfume store)

When using it, I immediately noticed a smell difference. The smell was much stronger, and different. Not like I'm used to. Even people around me noticed the difference.

I had never ordered the 100ml before , always the 50ml.

Anyway a few weeks ago I bought a 50ml bottle from another store. (One of the most popular in my country so it’s definitely legit)

The scent unfortunately turned out to be identical to the bottle that I purchased last year.

I recognize the scent out of a thousand because I have been using it daily/weekly for 17 years. Unfortunately it doesn't smell like it did back then… so I don’t really like to use it anymore…

Now my question was, has anything changed in the composition of this perfume?Is it modified from ingredients? Maybe some other users who also notice this smell difference ? I already contacted Chanel a few weeks ago but never received response.

5 months ago

Maybe there is something changed in you hormonally that your PH level has changed, and the smell is coming off differently from your skin than it used to. Maybe they have changed the formulation somehow, especially if others are smelling a difference also. If it was just yourself taking notice, i could have made some suggestions, but if it's a widespread thing, i don't see them being the cause.